More Sherman tanks   2 comments

June 2012 has come to a close and I was able to complete my latest batch of Sherman tanks.  These tanks are Battlefron M4A3E8 (Easy 8s), M4A3E2 (Jumbo), and a M4A3 (76mm) commanded by Lt. Col. Abrams.

In the flames of war game these two models of the Sherman tank will give players an extra bonus while fighting superior panzers.  The Easy  8 is fast and can shoot both shots without penalty assuming you only went 6 inches.  Can make the difference in a pinch.  For the models I wanted to have a just got out of the farmers field and made a mud bath look!  It doesnt look this bright in person.  Perhaps I will add some wash to break it up a bit.

The Sherman Jumbo allows the play to put a on it first.  Most German guns will have a hard time penetrating the Jumbo’s armor.  The German play can still use the gun tank rule to try and take out an Easy 8 instead.  Instead of a muddy look, I dry brushed the tracks a little just to show it had been driving cross country.

Lt. Abrams allows US players to use the German stormtrooper rule and also the spearhead rule during deployment.

Next up will be Sherman M4A3 (late) from Plastic Solider Company.  The package arrives Mondy.  Not sure if I will put them on the fast track.  My paint queue is already too long as it is!!

Here is Battlefronts guide to show us NOOB tank geeks the difference between the different Sherman tank models.

Colors used are my standard US color

As usual Battlefront resolved the issues with the Easy 8 and Jumbo tracks by sending me new replacement tracks at no cost.  Battlefront is in a league of its own with respect to customer service and one of the reasons I like to support their company by buying their miniatures even though can be a bit more than the alternatives.  Below shows the miscast Easy 8 track on the right and the final good track on the left.

2 responses to “More Sherman tanks

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice :). Good, clean paintjob and I like the periscopes.
    I think You overdid a bit with mud effect, but that is just a personal preference 😉

  2. Thanks 🙂 I was watching WW2 in HD and saw a Sherman covered in mud like that, so I thought it would be cool to have especially since they have wide tracks for better cross country mobility.

Leave a Reply

