Historical books through Audible   Leave a comment

Over the years since I got into this hobby I usually listened to television or maybe the odd podcast (Dan Carlin’s Hardcore history is amazing BTW) while I painted.  Painting is therapeutic and relaxing.  I also have a passion for reading books on military history.  Given the size of my mountain of lead, I had to find a way to do both.  This is were Audible comes in.  I know its not for everyone and it can be expensive, but I feel I have never been more productive.

Paint Table

I am not going to go into a full book review as I dont feel I am qualified.  I will simply state if I enjoyed it or not and maybe a passing comment.

First up:  Almost a Miracle:  The American Victory in the War of Independence by John Ferling.  Great overview of the war.  Only wished the narrator was more lively.

Almost a Miracle

The Somme: The Darkest Hour on the Western Front by Peter Hart.  Amazing amount of detail. It inspired me to complete my WW1 British Army for FOW

The Somme

Napoleon:  A life by Andrew Roberts.  A very good overview of the Napoleon and his rise and fall.  This book inspired me so much that I have several 6mm armies in the mail as we speak!

Napoleon a Life

The Civil War by Shelby Foote.  Hands down my favorite book on the Civil War.  I have read the books twice before and now I am listening to them again.  I know I will listen to this book again and again.  Hopefully, I can figure out what scale to finish ACW.  I have 15mm, 28mm, and 6mm.

The Civil War

Any recommendations please post!

Leave a Reply

